Aaron Goldberg – Worlds (2006)

Aaron Goldberg - Worlds (2006)
Artist: Aaron Goldberg
Album: Worlds
Label: Sunnyside
Year Of Release: 2006
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)

01. Lambada de Serpente (Djavan-Cacaso) – 8:05
02. Taurus (Goldberg) – 8:31
03. Kianda’s Song (Goldberg) – 2:27
04. Unstablemates (Goldberg) – 5:06
05. Modinha (Jobim-DeMoraes) – 5:10
06. Salvador (Goldberg) – 5:29
07. OAM’s Blues (Goldberg) – 4:27
08. Inutil Paisagem (Jobim-De Oliveira) – 6:58
09. Oud to Omer (Goldberg) – 11:01
10. Between Worlds (Goldberg) – 1:59


Pianist Aaron Goldberg has an intriguing style that is a little reminiscent of Marian McPartland in its harmonic sophistication. Although seven of the ten selections on Worlds are his originals, several hint at various standards, most notably “Unstablemates,” a witty de-construction of Benny Golson’s “Stablemates.” The interplay between Goldberg, bassist Reuben Rogers, and drummer Eric Harland is consistently inventive, and Luciana Souza adds her haunting voice to “Kianda’s Song.” However, the high point of this CD is “Oud to Omer,” which matches Goldberg with guest guitarist Kurt Rosenwinkel. The two musicians bring out the best in each other and plenty of sparks fly, making one hope that Goldberg and Rosenwinkel work together more often.

[Total: 0   Average: 0/5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *