Anouar Brahem – Khomsa (1995)

Anouar Brahem – Khomsa (1995)
Artist: Anouar Brahem
Album: Khomsa
Label: ECM Records
Year Of Release: 1995
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Comme un depart (3:34)
02. L’infini jour (7:31)
03. Souffle un vent de sable (10:05)
04. Regard de mouette (1:54)
05. Sur l’infini bleu (5:51)
06. Claquent les voiles (2:05)
07. Vague (2:34)
08. E la nave va (4:39)
09. Ain ghazel (7:31)
10. Khomsa (6:57)
11. Seule (3:35)
12. Nouvelle vague (2:33)
13. En robe d’olivier (2:40)
14. Des rayons et des ombres (8:27)
15. Un sentier d’alliance (2:36)
16. Comme une absence (3:13)


Anouar Brahem oud
Richard Gálliano accordion
François Couturier piano, synthesizer
Jean Marc Larché soprano saxophone
Béchir Selmi violin
Palle Danielsson double-bass
Jon Christensen drums

Brahem on oud, Richard Galliano on accordion, FranЌois Couturier on piano, Jean Marc Larche on soprano sax, Bechir Selmi on violin, Palle Danielsson on double-bass, and Jon Christensen on drums. Brahem is from Tunisia, where he is considered a master of his country’s classical music. His own music however borrows freely and naturally from other cultures. He plays the oud with an unusually delicate touch, and there is an incantatory lyricism about his compositions that gives his music great finesse. The music is performed in a highly improvisational framework, usually with a core trio, and sometimes in collaboration with other highly regarded musicians.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *