Aretha Franklin – Aretha’s Jazz (1984)

Aretha Franklin - Aretha's Jazz (1984)
Artist: Aretha Franklin
Album: Aretha’s Jazz
Label: Atlantic Jazz
Year Of Release: 1984
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01 Ramblin’ 3:09
02 Today I Sing The Blues 4:25
03 Pitiful 3:04
04 Crazy He Calls Me 3:25
05 Bring It On Home To Me 3:44
06 Somewhere 6:17
07 Moody’s Mood 2:59
08 Just Right Tonight 7:42


A good anthology that covers various album cuts, B-sides, and assorted material in a jazz vein that Aretha cut for Columbia. It’s great to hear her underrated piano playing given some more space, and Columbia should really reissue her Dinah Washington tribute album, from which they pulled a couple of these songs. Aretha wasn’t a jazz vocalist from the standpoint of approach or inspiration, but she really can sing anything and showed it on these cuts, even if they weren’t, for the most part, hits.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *