Aretha Franklin – The Genesis of Aretha: 1960-1966 (2021)

Aretha Franklin - The Genesis of Aretha: 1960-1966 (2021)
Artist: Aretha Franklin
Album: The Genesis of Aretha: 1960-1966
Label: Columbia – Legacy
Year Of Release: 2021
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Won’t Be Long (As heard in the Netflix series The Umbrella Academy)
02. Runnin’ Out of Fools
03. Rough Lover
04. Until the Real Thing Comes Along
05. Lee Cross
06. Evil Gal Blues
07. Skylark
08. Rock-A-Bye Your Baby with a Dixie Melody
09. Soulville
10. Can’t You Just See Me
11. One Step Ahead
12. Cry Like A Baby
13. It Ain’t Necessarily So
14. Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive
15. Walk On By
16. Unforgettable
17. Try a Little Tenderness
18. Trouble In Mind
19. Nobody Like You
20. One Room Paradise
21. Today I Sing the Blues
22. Without the One You Love


Aretha Franklin was one of the giants of soul music, and indeed of American pop as a whole. More than any other performer, she epitomized soul at its most gospel-charged. Her astonishing run of late-’60s hits with Atlantic Records — “Respect,” “I Never Loved a Man,” “Chain of Fools,” “Baby I Love You,” “I Say a Little Prayer,” “Think,” “The House That Jack Built,” and several others — earned her the title Queen of Soul. Franklin never rested on her laurels. Following the early-’70s LPs Spirit in the Dark and Young, Gifted and Black, she scored more hits on the R&B charts than pop, adeptly following the progression of soul in the ’70s and ’80s thanks to her collaborations with Curtis Mayfield (1976’s Sparkle) and Luther Vandross (1982’s Jump to It). Aretha made a triumphant return to pop with 1985’s Who’s Zoomin’ Who? and its Top 10 single “Freeway of Love,” which was followed in 1987 by the George Michael duet “I Knew You Were Waiting (For Me),” which became her first number one hit on the Billboard charts since “Respect” in 1967. Franklin spent the next three decades performing and recording regularly, maintaining her status as the Queen of Soul until her death in 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *