Artur Tuznik – The Space Above (2021)

Artur Tuznik - The Space Above (2021)
Artist: Artur Tuznik
Album: The Space Above
Label: Zack’s Music
Year Of Release: 2021
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Goldberg Variations, BWV 988_ Aria
02. Before Spring
03. Spring
04. After the Spring
05. Puis Qu’en Oubli
06. The Space Above Suite Part One
07. The Space Above Suite Part Two
08. The Space Above Suite Part Three
09. Tales of Shamans


Artur Tuznik – piano
Flavia Huarachi – flute
Simon Albertsen – drums

The trio’s first album was acclaimed in several international media and was awarded features in Politiken’s Top 5 for Danish jazz records in 2017.

Since then, Artur Tuznik has been one of the most sought-after pianists in Denmark. He was rewarded for his piano playing and compositions at DPA’s Young Jazz Composer of the Year and P8 JazzAlive in the DR Concert Hall.

In addition to his own projects such as the trio The Space Above and Artur Tuznik Sextet, he has most recently played with the likes of Mads Vinding, Anders Fjeldsted, and Simon Spang-Hansen.

Artur Tuznik has lived in Denmark since 2008. His recognizable style is inspired by the harmony of impressionism and folk music of his Polish homeland, but rooted in the sound of Scandinavian jazz. As the winner of some of the most important jazz competitions in Europe, he has gained a reputation as one of the most promising pianists of his generation.

At this concert, Artur Tuznik plays with an amazing rhythm section from the Aarhus jazz scene – French bassist Brice Soniano and Danish drummer Daniel Sommer.

Brice Soniano graduated in 2002 from the Royal Conservatory of The Hague after studying classical and jazz. Since then, he has worked as a professional musician in many European countries. In 2012, he recorded his debut album Beyond Time with Toma Gouband, Joachim Badenhorst, Nelson Veras, and Juan Parra Cancino.

In recent years, Daniel Sommer has left his mark of a large number of constellations, where he ensures that the music continues evolves to evolve through his skills and interactive playing style. He is a member of Organ Duo, Ornithopter, Jens Fisker Trio, and Karmen Rõivassepp Quartet. Together with Nikolaj Hess and Anders AC Christensen, he contributed to the Live Foyn Friis album Willow (2018).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *