Bill Summers ‎– The Essence Of Kwanzaa (1997)

Bill Summers ‎– The Essence Of Kwanzaa (1997)
Artist: Bill Summers
Album: The Essence Of Kwanzaa
Label: Monkey Hill
Year Of Release: 1997
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Ghetto Get Up
02. Ujimaa
03. Imani
04. Kujichagulia
05. Dit It Done It Wit It
06. Ujima
07. Kuumba
08. Nia
09. Yekola
10. Umoja
11. Bahia Lady
12. Sure Wa


Percussionist Bill Summers uses Kwanzaa (which means “first” in Swahili), the African-American cultural and harvest festival celebrated from December 26 to January 1, as the theme for this array of tunes titled after Kwanzaa’s seven guiding principals. There are also five tracks not titled after Kwanzaa: “Ghetto Get Up,” “Did It Done It Wit It” (co-written by George Clinton), “Bahia Lady,” “Yekola,” and “Sure Wa.” This is smooth, perky fusion with enough African rhythms to satisfy purists, and is perfect for unwinding and chilling. Vocalists (including Summers) play musical chairs, keeping it fresh until the last track.

[Total: 0   Average: 0/5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *