Björn Petersson Kvartett – Grabowski (2020)

Björn Petersson Kvartett - Grabowski (2020)
Artist: Björn Petersson Kvartett
Album: Grabowski
Label: PACAYA Records
Year Of Release: 2020
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Kompis
02. Kärleksvisa
03. Håll om mig
04. Allt är ditt
05. Finns alltid här för mig
06. Om du ska rädda regnskogen, då vill jag inte vara med
07. Förmultning
08. Svartsjuka
09. Känn hur skogen brinner upp
10. Syster
11. Kroppen
12. Mamma
13. Glömmer aldrig det du sa
14. Vänner
15. Pappa
16. Du får gärna knäcka mina ben


Bassist Björn Petersson’s debut album Grabowski lands in between comforting balm and disturbing, black humor with lyrics in an Allan Edwall-close landscape. Petersson’s songs also have a certain relationship with the bassist and composer Oskar Schönning, who together with the singer Anja Bigrell interpreted Gunnar Ekelöf on fine and sweetly skewed Postcards.

In Björn Petersson’s quartet, Agnes Åhlund stands for the strong and fragile song, with Lea-Marie Sittler on saxophone and Christian Berg on piano. I do not have the Swedish hymn book in the back pocket, but I like to hear diphthongs from Just one day in Buddy, and Kolmodin’s school closing hymn in Kärleksvisa. “Come, let’s wait until the laughter fades out.” No one can be safer shining through fine Formula, where “the coffee is cold and the wine sour, the lights start to burn out”. Petersson’s psalm-coated existentialist questions are a fairly rare bird in Swedish modern jazz. Hold on to me as a fit for Allan Edwalls When small birds die: “How can I be raw because I die one day, that’s what we humans do”.

[Total: 0   Average: 0/5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *