Black Art Jazz Collective – Ascension (2020)

Black Art Jazz Collective - Ascension (2020)
Artist: Black Art Jazz Collective
Album: Ascension
Label: HighNote Records
Year Of Release: 2020
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Ascension
02. Mr. Willis
03. Involuntary Servitude
04. Twin Towers
05. No Words Needed
06. Tulsa
07. Iron Man
08. For the Kids
09. Birdie’s Bounce


Wayne Escoffery (tenor saxophone)
Jeremy Pelt (trumpet)
James Burton III (trombone)
Victor Gould (piano)
Rashaan Carter (bass)
Mark Whitfield Jr. (drums)

The Black Art Jazz Collective was founded in 2012 by Wayne Escoffery and Jeremy Pelt with the aim of honouring and preserving the art of some of the progenitors of jazz who inspired them, hired them and mentored them first-hand.

And while the band does pay homage to the greats of the past they also continue the evolving tradition of jazz with a body of work that remains firmly entrenched in the modernism of today.

From the angular melody of Escoffery’s “Involuntary Servitude,” to the ingratiating groove of Pelt’s “For the Kids,” the ensemble extends the range and potential established by their illustrious predecessors with innovative original compositions, solos that run the gamut from thoughtful to virtuosic and a shared sense of purpose that is unique on today’s jazz landscape.

[Total: 0   Average: 0/5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *