Chick Corea – Three Quartets (1981)

Chick Corea - Three Quartets (1981)
Artist: Chick Corea
Album: Three Quartets
Label: Stretch Records
Year Of Release: 1981
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue)

1 Quartet No. 1 10:09
2 Quartet No. 3 9:36
Quartet No. 2
3 Part 1 (Dedicated To Duke Ellington) 7:05
4 Part 2 (Dedicated To John Coltrane) 11:48
5 Folk Song 5:47
6 Hairy Canary 3:39
7 Slippery When Wet 5:57
8 Confirmation 6:15


Bass – Eddie Gomez
Drums – Steve Gadd
Piano – Chick Corea
Saxophone – Michael Brecker

This encounter between Chick Corea (sticking to acoustic piano), tenor saxophonist Michael Brecker, bassist Eddie Gomez, and drummer Steve Gadd lives up to expectations. The original program featured three lengthy “Quartet” pieces including sections dedicated to Duke Ellington and John Coltrane. The CD reissue adds four briefer pieces that were previously unissued, including an unaccompanied Brecker workout on “Confirmation” that would be perfect for “blindfold” tests. This blowing date is highly recommended for all true jazz fans.~ Scott Yanow

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *