Chico Freeman & Heiri Känzig – The Arrival (2015)

Chico Freeman & Heiri Känzig - The Arrival (2015)
Artist: Chico Freeman & Heiri Känzig
Album: The Arrival
Label: Intakt Records
Year Of Release: 2015
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01 – One For Eddie Who 2
02 – Early Snow
03 – The Essence Of Silence
04 – Ancient Dancer
05 – Will I See In The Morning
06 – Dat Dere
07 – Song For The Sun
08 – Just Play
09 – Eye Of The Fly
10 – After The Rain
11 – To Hear A Teardrop In The Rain
12 – Chamber’s Room


A magic duo: Chico Freeman, 65, saxophonist, clarinettist, flute player, composer from Chicago, an eminent improvisor and Heiri Känzig, 58, born in New York, the Swiss double bass virtuoso. A transatlantic dialogue between one of America’s most versatile saxophonists and one of Europe’s most ‘all-round’ bass players. Freeman and Känzig share that passion for the centre of gravity of the Jazz tradition, albeit with one precondition: that of transformation. And, with all their abilities for strong, heavy grooves, there is that preference for melody. “If you groove like hell and there’s no melody, it makes no sense.” (Känzig).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *