Gabe Terracciano – Three Part Invention (2021)

Gabe Terracciano - Three Part Invention (2021)
Artist: Gabe Terracciano
Album: Three Part Invention
Label: Ligonia Records
Year Of Release: 2021
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01 – Crazy Rhythm
02 – Invention No. 4/Beautiful Love
03 – Gymnopédie No. 3
04 – Flèche D’Or
05 – Spartacus (Love Theme)
06 – Ad Una Fresca Riva/Al Primo Vostro Sguardo
07 – Dance for Jimmy
08 – Sonata “Pathétique” II. Adagio cantabile
09 – Sweet Chorus


From Ligonia Records, this album is a new take on chamber music, particularly that of the Renaissance and Baroque periods. There are so many similarities to playing in a smaller jazz setting – stripping down the music to the basic elements of melody, bass, and chords, smaller and more intense conversations between musicians, improvisations and divisions over standard tunes, the list goes on.

All nine pieces explore the intersection of jazz and classical music, and how the potentials for stylistic crossover are always available, no matter what the genre. Some pieces are more straightforward renditions of classical pieces, but rearranged for jazz string trio. Others are more influenced by the manouche tradition of improvisatory string playing. The one original track, “Dance for Jimmy”, was written by Gabe Terracciano in tribute to Jimmy Giuffre, another huge influence on this trio.

All three musicians on this recording are veterans of the New York jazz scene, and have been playing as a trio for years leading up to this project. It is the culmination of a shared love of both jazz and classical music, and a desire to create new sounds out of the ones that came before.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *