Gerry Wiggins – Wig Is Here (2008)

Gerry Wiggins - Wig Is Here (2008)
Artist: Gerry Wiggins
Album: Wig Is Here
Label: Disques Black & Blue
Year Of Release: 2008
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. This Can’t Be Love (3:23)
02. Sysmo Blues (3:52)
03. Watch What Happens (4:24)
04. The Lady Is A Tramp (2:52)
05. Stolen Sweets (6:50)
06. What Is There To Say (4:12)
07. On A Clear Day (3:53)
08. A Beautiful Frienship (This Is The End Of) (6:45)
09. You Are The Sunshine Of My Life (6:23)
10. Edith Is The Sweetest (5:30)
11. Lover (6:11)
12. F B O T (8:20)
13. Oh! Give Me Something To Remember You By (5:20)
14. There Is No Greater Love (5:52)


This Black & Blue set was pianist Gerald Wiggins’ first recording session as a leader in 13 years, even though he had been quite active in the Los Angeles area during that time. Recorded in Paris with bassist Major Holley (who has a few solos on which he sings along with his bass) and drummer Ed Thigpen, Wig performs some standards (including “You Are the Sunshine of My Life,” “Lover,” and “There Is No Greater Love”), obscurities, and a couple of originals. The music always swings and has plenty of subtle surprises.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *