Greg Murphy – Cool Water (2021)

Greg Murphy - Cool Water (2021)
Artist: Greg Murphy
Album: Cool Water
Label: Whaling City Sound
Year Of Release: 2021
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Chim Chim Cher-ee (7:22)
02. Green Earrings (4:54)
03. My Life (6:14)
04. Theme for Ronnie (4:44)
05. Friendship (5:41)
06. Free Fur Nina (4:36)
07. Enkare nairobi (6:55)
08. Body and Soul (9:15)
09. Coolin’ Me Out (6:00)
10. Lost (5:50)
11. Cuttin’ Trane’s Corners (7:02)
12. You Decide (5:48)


It is glad tidings indeed that Whaling City Sound announces the release of a new Greg Murphy recording. In fact, the news is almost as joyous as the sound of Murphys piano. Cool Water is both heartwarming and exhilarating. Greg’s fingers find delicate and exciting ways of expressing themselves across the keys. It is the sound of a blissful talent given a new lease in both life and career, as well as the opportunity to rediscover his true and glorious gift. The recording opens with the ebullient Chim Chim Che-Ree, segues into a chancy take on Steely Dans Green Earrings, careening through a battery of brisk melodies and beautiful playing, including the astonishing Cuttin Tranes Corners, a dark, surprising cover of Wayne Shorters Lost, and the funk-filled closing celebration, You Decide. Featuring Murphy bandmates Jeff Tain Watts on drums, Eric Wheeler on bass, and a bevy of special guests, Cool Water is just that, long and fresh, a ride with the top down, rife with optimism and full of freedom and discovery. Greg Murphy is clearly glad to be back and playing music again, and we should all be thankful for it.

[Total: 0   Average: 0/5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *