Indigo Jam Unit – Milestone (2013)

Indigo Jam Unit - Milestone (2013)
Artist: Indigo Jam Unit
Album: Milestone
Label: Basis Records
Year Of Release: 2013
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

1. Widescreen Rain [6:16]
2. Zeus [5:09]
3. Naja [5:13]
4. Hunt [5:14]
5. Milestone [4:59]
6. Trick [5:03]
7. Watercolor [5:28]
8. Corazon [5:31]
9. Shiosai [5:38]


Indigo Jam Unit, a quartet, originated out of a trio consisting of Yoshichika Tarue (piano), Katsuhiko Sasai (double bass), and Isao Wasano (percussion and drums). In 2005, the trio had been playing live and working with different member setups when they started working with independent record label producer Kenichi Tateiwa of Basis Records, who suggested they add Takehiro Shimizu on drums to the line up. Shimizu joined the band in the months leading up to the recording of their first album, DEMONSTRATION, in August 2005. Shimizu currently (November, 2011) divides his time between Osaka, Japan, and New York City, NY.

Indigo Jam Unit is often grouped together with other bands from the Japanese jazz and nu jazz scene, such as Quasimode, Soil & “Pimp” Sessions, and Sleepwalker among others. Indigo Jam Unit have distinguished themselves with a twin drum line up where Shimizu contributes the jazzier rhythms and drum solos while Wasano adds a heavier straight beat and percussion.

Indigo Jam Unit always record their material live in the studio little post processing and as few effects as possible. No edits or overdubs are made to their recordings. The only exception is their 2009 release re:common on Rambling Records, featuring American hip-hop artist Common and hip-hoop/soul artist Mary J. Blige’s original voice tracks with indigo jam unit’s instrumental tracks added separately.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *