Jimmy Forrest – Pick Yourself Up (2018)

Jimmy Forrest - Pick Yourself Up (2018)
Artist: Jimmy Forrest
Album: Pick Yourself Up
Label: nagel heyer records
Year Of Release: 2018
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Sonny Boy
02. The Moon Was Yellow
03. That’s All
04. Moonglow
05. Soft Summer Breeze
06. My Buddy
07. Royal Garden Blues
08. Matilda, Matilda
09. Bolo Blues
10. Rocks in My Bed
11. Just a Sittin’ and a Rockin’
12. Show Time
13. Autumn Leaves
14. Robbin’s Nest
15. But Not for Me
16. I’ve Got a Right to Cry
17. Organ Grinder’s Swing
18. Tuxedo Junction
19. By the River Saint Marie
20. Soft Winds
21. Sox Trot
22. Yesterdays
23. Tin Tin Deo
24. Mozelle’s Alley


A fine all-round tenor player, Jimmy Forrest is best-known for recording “Night Train,” a song that he “borrowed” from the last part of Duke Ellington’s “Happy Go Lucky Local.” While in high school in St. Louis, Forrest worked with pianist Eddie Johnson, the legendary Fate Marable, and the Jeter-Pillars Orchestra. In 1938, he went on the road with Don Albert and then was with Jay McShann’s Orchestra (1940-1942). In New York, Forrest played with Andy Kirk (1942-1948) and Duke Ellington (1949) before returning to St. Louis. After recording “Night Train,” Forrest became a popular attraction and recorded a series of jazz-oriented R&B singles. Among his most important later associations were with Harry “Sweets” Edison (1958-1963), Count Basie’s Orchestra (1972-1977), and Al Grey, with whom he co-led a quintet until his death. Forrest recorded for United (reissued by Delmark), Prestige/New Jazz (1960-1962), and Palo Alto (1978). ~ Scott Yanow

[Total: 0   Average: 0/5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *