Jojo Effect – True Sky Heroes (2020)

Jojo Effect - True Sky Heroes (2020)
Artist: Jojo Effect
Album: True Sky Heroes
Label: Chinchin Records
Year Of Release: 2020
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

1. Along Came Fred (2:42)
2. No Joke (3:05)
3. Pacific Breeze (3:03)
4. Our Hearts Are Free (3:00)
5. True Sky Heroes (3:02)
6. Well All Right! (Jojo Effect Latin Remix) (3:05)
7. He Killed Capoty (Jojo Effect Remix) (2:39)
8. Sad Day (4:10)
9. What Is Right And What Is Wrong (3:22)
10. Swing It Up (3:14)
11. Too Hot to Tango (Gardener of Delight & Jojo Effect Remix Radio Edit) (3:25)
12. Derniers Potins (3:18)
13. Chuckle Funk (2:40)
14. No Joke (Gardener of Delight & Zouzoulectric Remix) (3:37)
15. Tanz der Zuckerfee (2:24)


As a child, the only idea was to be able to fly. At the same time, you take off enthusiastically, ready to save the world. As an adult you need a lot more equipment. With their new airy album “True Sky Heroes”, the Wuppertal- based NuJazz heroes from JOJO EFFECT may not save the world. But keeping the joy of life alive is also a reasonable achievement. Producer Jürgen Kausemann and his excellent acting artists invite you on a sightseeing flight through space and time. The opener “Along came Fred” already had a perfect start with gruff electric guitars and soul driven by a powerful brass section.

Dennis Legree then interprets “No Joke” with the dynamics of a David Bowie. The congenial Gardener of Delight & ZOUZOULECTRIC remix of this piece also represents the pre-release of the album. The title song “True Sky Heros” has the energy of a rousing gospel thanks to the California Soul Diva Brenda Boykin. Jazz is the driving force in the stratosphere permeated by sound tinkering, electro beats and remixes, through which JOJO EFFECT glides.The British jazz crooner Iain Mackenzie celebrates the finest Scat-inspired jazz vocals in the song “What is Right & What is Wrong”.

“True Sky Heroes” sets new rhythmic aspects in the remixes of the already well-known songs “Too Hot for Tango” and “He Killed Capoty”, which let these titles shine in special timbres. With the music of the incomparable Andrew Sisters and an electrical update from Tchaikovsky’s Sugar Fairy, the idea of time travel is also vigorously served.

At the end of the album, the temporary instrumental song “Weekend Waltz” softly initiates the landing and gently flatters the listener into the weekend. Jürgen Kausemann and JOJO EFFECT present with their new album “True Sky Heroes” nothing less than the music for the twenties of this millennium.

[Total: 0   Average: 0/5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *