Kenny Wheeler – Double, Double You (1983)

Kenny Wheeler - Double, Double You (1983)
Artist: Kenny Wheeler
Album: Double, Double You
Label: ECM Records
Year Of Release: 1983
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)

1 Foxy Trot 14:03
2 Ma Bel 3:49
3 W.W. 7:46
4 Three For D’reen / Blue For Lou / Mark Time 23:26


Bass – David Holland
Drums – Jack DeJohnette
Piano – John Taylor
Tenor Saxophone – Mike Brecker
Trumpet, Flugelhorn, Composed By – Kenny Wheeler

Kenny Wheeler’s string of ECM recordings are all quite rewarding, generally avoiding the ECM stereotype of introspective long tones and silence. A fiery but thoughtful trumpeter whose style can range from advanced swinging to sound explorations, Wheeler is joined on this excellent set by tenor saxophonist Michael Brecker, pianist John Taylor, bassist Dave Holland and drummer Jack DeJohnette. They perform a set of Wheeler’s originals and each of the world class musicians has an opportunity to be featured. A generally memorable outing. ~Scott Yanow

[Total: 0   Average: 0/5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *