Kirk Nelson & Jambalaya West – Lagniappe (2021)

Kirk Nelson & Jambalaya West - Lagniappe (2021)
Artist: Kirk Nelson & Jambalaya West
Album: Lagniappe
Year Of Release: 2021
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01 – Hot Diggity
02 – Mad Money Man
03 – Did You Catch That Jack
04 – Swimmin’ Pool
05 – Down for the Count
06 – I Love the Life I Live
07 – Who Dat Der
08 – Small Time Grifter
09 – Never a Dull Moment
10 – Process of Elimination
11 – Cat’s out the Bag
12 – That Ship Has Sailed


After the release of the last album, “Collectibles” in 2018, Jambalaya West was formed. Setting sights on a National tour, the band tightened up playing steadily around Southern California until March of 2020 when all shows were cancelled until further notice. Spending time wisely, I wrote some material for ten tunes and JW recorded a new album including two covers in homage to Willie Dixon and Porterhouse Bob.

Drum contributions from Mitch Montrose (Porterhouse Bob and Down to the Bone) brought a strong second line feel to the tunes. Add in Don “Notorious Dr. Funk” Read (Barbara Morrison) on bass and a West Coast “New Orleans Blues” was created. Regular players Tommy “The Gator” Cunningham (Ramsey Lewis) on trumpet and Ethan Saxe (John Lindahl) on Trombone really help establish the “Jambalaya West” sound. Local favorite Mike Guerrero (Jazz on the Waterfront) added most of the guitar tracks with special performances from award winning guitar slingers Ewen Williams and Michael Granger.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *