Lettuce – Resonate (2020)

Lettuce - Resonate (2020)
Artist: Lettuce
Album: Resonate
Label: Round Hill Records
Year Of Release: 2020
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)

1. Blaze (06:21)
2. Good Morning Mr Shmink (04:59)
3. NDUGU (05:10)
4. Checker Wrecker (feat. Jungle Boogie & Big Tony) (05:50)
5. Silence is Golden (05:43)
6. Moksha (feat. INDRAJIT BANERJEE) (07:48)
7. Mr Dynamite (06:24)
8. Remember the Children (04:25)
9. ‘Lude (00:47)
10. House of Lett (05:45)
11. Resonate (08:17)


Lettuce has announced the forthcoming release of their next studio album, to be titled, Resonate, and due out this spring on May 8th via Round Hill Records. The album’s announcement on Wednesday morning should be a wonderful start-of-the-day surprise for fans of the funk band, as it comes just months after Lettuce released their Grammy-nominated Elevate LP this past summer.

The band’s announcement also came with the arrival of its lead single, entitled, “Checker Wrecker”. The nearly-six minute, horn-filled track hears the band team up with veterans of the Washington, D.C. scene in Big Tony Fisher (Trouble Funk) and Tyrone “Jungle Boogie” Williams (Rare Essence).

Big Tony wastes no time in making his presence known as he quickly belts out, “Add a little bit of that trouble funk with some Lettuce baby!” The groovy tune bounces along with lightning-strike horn fills and a vibrant beat to match. Although the track is an instrumental, Big Tony’s commentary certainly helps to liven up the already-booming energy with more lines like, “Put some stank on it!” and “Hey Shmeeans, give me one of them funky solos!”

“Go-go music is the style of music that links funk to hip-hop and this song is a tribute to that groove. Having Tony and Boogie, iconic go-go legends, as features on the track gives it even more of a boost in energy and swagger,” Lettuce said about their latest recording in a statement via press release.

[Total: 0   Average: 0/5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *