Marcin Wasilewski Trio & Joe Lovano – Arctic Riff (2020)

Marcin Wasilewski Trio & Joe Lovano - Arctic Riff (2020)
Artist: Marcin Wasilewski Trio & Joe Lovano
Album: Arctic Riff
Label: ECM Records
Year Of Release: 2020
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

1. Glimmer Of Hope (8:33)
2. Vashkar (5:57)
3. Cadenza (9:13)
4. Fading Sorrow (6:02)
5. Arco (4:00)
6. Stray Cat Walk (2:32)
7. L’amour Fou (8:53)
8. A Glimpse (2:10)
9. Vashkar (Var.) (4:38)
10. On The Other Side (5:01)
11. Old Hat (5:35)


Joe Lovano: tenor saxophone
Marcin Wasilewski: piano
Slawomir Kurkiewicz: double bass
Michal Miskiewicz: drums

The first-time teaming of Poland’s dynamic Marcin Wasilewski Trio and big-toned US tenorist Joe Lovano brings forth special music of concentrated, deep feeling, in which lyricism and strength seem ideally balanced.

The alliance plays four new tunes by Marcin and one by Joe, as well as Carla Bley’s classic “Vashkar” (in two variations), plus collective improvisations with strong input from all four players; Slawomir Kurkiewicz’s bass skills are particularly well-deployed in the spontaneous piece “Arco”. Joe will be joining the Polish trio for a number of selected concerts in the autumn.

Arctic Riff was recorded at France’s Studio La Buissonne in August 2019, and produced by Manfred Eicher.

[Total: 0   Average: 0/5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *