Martin Rude & Jakob Skøtt Duo – The Dichotomy of Control (2020)

Martin Rude & Jakob Skøtt Duo - The Dichotomy of Control (2020)
Artist: Martin Rude & Jakob Skøtt Duo
Album: The Dichotomy of Control
Label: El Paraiso
Year Of Release: 2020
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

1. Ode to Sadiq (4:21)
2. Memory Tree (3:45)
3. Quem Näo Arrisca (2:30)
4. Shadowland (3:53)
5. The Veil (4:42)
6. Epictetus Wash (2:43)
7. The Rest of the Way (5:32)
8. Une Découverte Retentissante (4:56)
9. Canyon Collage (10:55)


Martin Rude (Sun River) & Jakob Skøtt (Causa Sui drummer) team up for their 2nd album in 2020, following their acclaimed debut TheDiscipline of Assent. All basic tracks were cooked up from a new session on July 7th in Causa Sui’s Jonas Munk’s studio. This timearound, the duo took it’s time to modulate a few ideas into several takes, but maintaining an “onwards and upwards” attitude, oftenrelying on an original impulse or idea snagged out of the ether. The result is a meeting of groovy electric jazz, open guitar tunings and buzzing electronics. As one reviewer remarked about their previous outing: “like one of those films where the protagonists fall through walls into completely different sets”, which is fueled by the fact that Martin alternates between double bass & guitars. The session was thoroughly produced by Jakob Skøtt, adding layers of percussion, electronics, samples, edits & effects. A duo rarely sounded this band-like before, yet the telekinetic raw vibes of the basic layers shines through. It’s a deeply layered sound, where opposites are erased: Organic, yet synthesized. Chaotic, yet organized. Dissonant, yet melodic. Jagged, yet groovy. Experimental, yet enjoyable.

[Total: 0   Average: 0/5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *