Melodie Gimard – Numen (2020)

Melodie Gimard - Numen (2020)
Artist: Melodie Gimard
Album: Numen
Label: One World Records
Year Of Release: 2020
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Numen (6:53)
02. Vida Mía (Guajiras) (5:37)
03. Qué Sería? (5:07)
04. Cayó al Suelo (Farruca), Pt 1 (4:16)
05. Deja Vivir (Farruca), Pt 2 (4:09)
06. Laberinto (Bulerias) (6:35)
07. Ideas Sin Palabras (Alegrias) (6:43)
08. Glosa a Caracol (Zambra) (5:00)
09. Zaïda (Romance) (4:00)
10. De Bronce, Homenaje a Moraito (Soleá) (6:56)


The French master pianist Mélodie Gimard has composed, arranged & produced an outstanding debut album NUMEN. On this original project she blends Flamenco with Jazz and Classical music with an utterly elegant and contemporary approach.

In Latin the word Numen means spiritual presence, and the album title refers to freedom of expression and inspiration. As a former dancer, Mel Gimard translates the movements from Flamenco dances into music. In her compositions, we find influences from both traditional and contemporary Flamenco. El Chozas de Jerez, Manolo Caracol, Moraito, Bebo Valdes, Ibrahim Maalouf and Tigran Hamasyan, all form part of the variated creative ‘Numen’ that inspired Gimard. Performed with an exquisite line up of the new Spanish and Cuban generation of musicians in the field of Flamenco and Jazz, the music on Numen is stunning. References to her roots with a fearless approach by the piano prodigy and her knowledge for folklore and classics, results in a beautiful oeuvre by one of the most exciting pianists of her generation. NUMEN is a must for any Flamenco lover!

[Total: 0   Average: 0/5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *