Milton Nascimento – Milton (1976)

Milton Nascimento - Milton (1976)
Artist: Milton Nascimento
Album: Milton
Label: Verve
Year Of Release: 1976
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)

1. Raca (Hasa) (Race) 3:35
2. Fairy Tale Song (Cade) 4:11
3. Francisco 4:27
4. Nothing Will Be As It Was (Nada Sera Como Antes) 3:53
5. Cravo E Canela (Clove And Cinnamon) 3:44
6. The Call (Chamada) 5:49
7. One Coin (Tostao) 4:31
8. Saidas E Bandeiras (Exits And Flags) 4:45
9. Os Povos (The People) 8:06


Journey to Brazil and beyond with the music of gifted singer-songwriter Milton Nascimento. On Milton, the acoustic-based 1976 follow-up to Native Dancer, his collaboration with Wayne Shorter, the two are paired again, along with Herbie Hancock on piano. Beginning with the Afro-Brazilian rhythms of “Raça” and ending on the dark jazz landscape of “Os Povos,” we go on a vocal journey of words and wordless singing that showcases the incredible range of Nascimento’s voice. For some, Nascimento’s vocal style is an acquired taste, but not many can deny the beauty of his falsetto, the richness of his bass register, and all the colorings in between. It is this voice that transcends any language barrier and resists categorization. On the haunting “Chamada,” where his vocalese is accompanied by a single guitar, Nascimento’s music calls on a mysterious yet moving place in our musical understanding. –Jamie FitzGerald

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *