Mulatu Astatke & Black Jesus Experience – To Know Without Knowing (2020)

Mulatu Astatke, Black Jesus Experience - To Know Without Knowing (2020)
Artist: Mulatu Astatke & Black Jesus Experience
Album: To Know Without Knowing
Label: Agogo Records
Year Of Release: 2020
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Mulatu
02. Ambassa Lemdi
03. Kulun Mankwaleshi
04. Living on Stolen Land
05. To Know Without Knowing
06. Lijay
07. Blue Light
08. Mascaram Setaba
09. A Chance to Give


Mulatu Astatke is the Father of Ethio-Jazz and one of Africa’s most influential and enduring musical figures. Black Jesus Experience is a community of artists, centred around a twelve piece global-funk-machine born of Australia’s vibrant multiculturalism. Mulatu and Black Jesus Experience met in Addis Ababa in 2009, embarking on both a musical relationship and a friendship that has led Mulatu Astake to describe Black Jesus Experience as, “My favourite backing band” and, “…they’re family.”​

“A grooving transcontinental gem, recorded in Melbourne, Australia and Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. Filled with the warmth of the mentorship and friendship of their creative partnership honed over a decade of performing together in Africa, Australia and UK/Europe.

Mulatu’s great contribution to music has been to to combine Jazz and funk grooves with Ethiopia’s distinctive pentatonic scales. His musical genius is the sensuality and sophistication with which Mulatu contrasts these minimalist scales with richly chromatic harmony. But Mulatu’s equally great contribution has been to share both his enduringly unique modernity and Ethiopia’s timelessly spiritual music with the world. Black Jesus Experience treasure the special relationship of generosity, mentorship and collaboration they have been privileged to share with this master musician. ‘To Know Without Knowing’ is the product of this gift.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *