Mulgrew Miller – The Duo (2020)

Mulgrew Miller - The Duo (2020)
Artist: Mulgrew Miller
Album: The Duo
Label: Storyville Records
Year Of Release: 2020
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. C Jam Blues
02. Sophisticated Lady
03. Pitter Patter Panther
04. I Got It Bad
05. What Am I Here For
06. Mood Indigo
07. Blues In The PM´s
08. Come Sunday
09. Just Squeeze Me
10. Solitude
11. Caravan
12. O.D. Blues


In 1999, Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen and Mulgrew Miller came together in a unique and unlikely pairing to pay tribute to Duke Ellington on the 100th anniversary of his birth. The result was a passionate and long-lived musical partnership between two masters of their respective instruments, but the original recordings were never released. For the first time ever, more than 20 years after its recording, this lost treasure is finally made available to the public. The duo was initially brought together by Bang & Olufsen and set out to celebrate Ellington and his partnership with bassist Jimmy Blanton. With the help of Per Arnoldi, who is also credited with the albums artwork, NHØP was approached to take part and tapped Mulgrew Miller to tackle a series of Ellingtons classic themes and a couple of their own. He saw the opportunity to work with Mulgrew Miller, a pianist whom he admired and had not yet had the opportunity to work with, and this decision paid off greatly for both of them. A great musical and personal partnership was born, and the duos captivating chemistry is obvious from the first notes.

[Total: 0   Average: 0/5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *