Peter Kronreif – Aeronautics. Wayfarers (2021)

Peter Kronreif - Aeronautics. Wayfarers (2021)
Artist: Peter Kronreif
Album: Aeronautics. Wayfarers
Label: Fresh Sound New Talent
Year Of Release: 2021
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

1. Obliviously Oblivious (6:40)
2. Aeronautics (8:37)
3. Obeisance (6:14)
4. A Late Premonition (1:26)
5. The Undefeated (6:40)
6. Verdura (6:30)
7. Nodoc (5:25)
8. Square One (5:17)
9. Trees (6:27)


Lucas Pino: tenor saxophone;
Andrew Gould: alto saxophone;
Addison Frei: piano;
Martin Nevin: double bass;
Peter Kronreif: drums.
Matthias ‘Pedals’ Loescher: guitar (#3);
Alex Wintz: guitar (#7).

The tangible rhythmic work of Austrian-born, Brooklyn-based drummer/composer Peter Kronreif has been enriching projects by the German pianist Florian Hoefner and the American saxophonist Remy LeBoeuf. Aeronautics marks his return as a leader, comprising nine original compositions where we find him at the helm of his renewed group The Wayfarers. The ensemble features musicians with whom he has developed a special kinship throughout the years, including saxophonists Lucas Pino and Andrew Gould (the only member that transitioned from the 2010 debut Gloaming), pianist Addison Frei and bassist Martin Nevin.

The opening piece, “Obviously Obvious” is pleasantly laid down with warm melody, an inquisitive tempo and adroit soloing that derives from the productive vocabularies of Pino, whose tenor navigates tight curves and acute angles, and Nevin, whose beautiful touch puts up a light and thoughtful statement.

The initial idea for the title track, “Aeronautics”, was developed in various airports, and the group only takes off the ground after bass and drums entwine in a sturdy foundation. On top of it, it’s Frei’s glowing pianism that stands out. The combination of rock music and contemporary jazz sets a rich background for Pino, who makes some spine-chilling notes soar high before reuniting in unison with his fellow reedman for a subsequent polyrhythmic section.

The band concentrates efforts in certain details that tie everything together, and that comes to our view on pieces like “The Undefeated”, an energetic look at Hemingway’s short story of the same name, here told with firm melodic imprints; “Verdura”, a breathable sonic bubble featuring electric piano and giving off a tranquil aura dedicated to everything green on our planet; and “Trees”, which, following the latter piece in the message, thrives with exuberant exchanges between the saxophonists.

Guest guitarists Matthias Loescher and Alex Wintz are featured on one track each. The former provides textural pigmentation to “Obeisance”, a swinging post-bop number whose extraordinary grace and plush lyricism are inspired by Kronreif’s major influences, John Coltrane and Brian Blade. In turn, Wintz boasts his immense sound and resilient drive on “Nodoc”, shaping up a rhythmic figure in five that helps better define the backbone.

Leading and composing with charisma, Kronreif should keep on doing his own thing.

[Total: 0   Average: 0/5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *