Ricard Roda Quartet – Asteriscs (2020)

Ricard Roda Quartet - Asteriscs (2020)
Artist: Ricard Roda Quartet
Album: Asteriscs
Label: Fresh Sound Records
Year Of Release: 2020
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Asteriscs
02. Stella by Starlight
03. On Green Dolphin Street
04. Kelly Blues
05. Theme for Ernie
06. C.T.A.
07. Bernie’s Tune
08. Walkin’
09. Fine and Dandy


Ricard Roda was an excellent altoist who shone playing in Barcelonas jazz scene during the late 50s and 60s. This CD gathers the few jazz recordings he did back then. Together with Tete Montoliu*, Roda became a guide for a whole generation of jazzmen, and his contributions were fundamental to the evolution of jazz, not only in Catalonia, but also in Spain. He joined the history of jazz in 1948 when he was 17, and the only thing that managed to separate him from his instrument, his music and his pupils was illness.

The quartet featured on this CD includes Ricard Roda on alto and flute, Ricard Miralles on piano, Enric Ponsa on double-bass, and Josep Tudurí on drums. They played together at the club Jamboree, and their skill is proof that the modern jazz to be heard in Barcelona over 40 years ago was on par with anything found elsewhere in Europe in places with a more recognized jazz history.

Ricard Roda left us on November 18, 2010. May this CD serve as a modest homage to his memory.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *