Samara Joy – Samara Joy (2021)

Samara Joy - Samara Joy (2021)
Artist: Samara Joy
Album: Samara Joy
Label: Whirlwind Recordings
Year Of Release: 2021
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Stardust
02. Everything Happens to Me
03. If You Never Fall in Love with Me
04. Let’s Dream in the Moonlight
05. It Only Happens Once
06. Jim
07. The Trouble with Me Is You
08. If You’d Stay the Way I Dream
09. Lover Man (Oh Where Can You Be?)
10. Only a Moment Ago
11. Moonglow
12. But Beautiful (feat. Pasquale Grasso)


Samara Joy is a singing star in the ascendancy: the young vocalist attracted attention in 2019 after winning the Sarah Vaughan International Jazz Vocal Competition. Now, the 21-year-old announces her self-titled debut release, which puts her spin on jazz standards from the Great American Songbook.

Produced by Grammy-nominated veteran Matt Pierson, she’s joined by jazz guitar virtuoso Pasquale Grasso and his trio (Ari Roland and Kenny Washington) for a release that furthers Joy’s reputation as one of America’s most promising young jazz vocalists.

Joy’s interpretations balance the breezy-fresh feel of a relative newcomer with a reverence for a tradition she is now undoubtably part of. “But Beautiful”, “Let’s Dream in the Moonlight” and “Jim” pay homage to Billie Holiday’s original versions, and she acknowledges the great Nat King Cole with versions of “It Only Happens Once” and “The Trouble with Me is You”. “Stardust” is another nod to Cole, showcasing a talent for storytelling well beyond her years. As she says, “There’s nothing like hearing someone who understands sing it to you.” Moods range from the happy-go-lucky simplicity of “Everything Happens to Me” to the longing of “Lover Man”.

Winning the Vaughan award was transformational for Joy. “I was suddenly on the jazz radar. It’s still bizarre to think of how fast things have progressed.” Since then, Joy has dug deep to discover her jazz roots, without losing sight of the innate simplicity that makes her sound shine. Her first album announces the arrival of a young artist destined for greatness.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *