Saundra Hewitt – Saundra (1976/2012)

Saundra Hewitt - Saundra (1976/2012)
Artist: Saundra Hewitt
Album: Saundra
Label: Think! Records
Year Of Release: 1976/2012
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)

01. Won’t Be Water Next Time (Hewitt) – 3:37
02. Got a New Pair of Shoes (Lashley-Hewitt) – 6:33
03. Heart of Stone (Calloway-Frank) – 6:22
04. Up on Cripple Creek (Roffie-Robertson) – 5:37
05. I Loved You Too Much (Lashley) – 5:31
06. Just to Be with You (Hathaway) – 3:45


Saundra Hewitt – vocals
Bob Mintzer – tenor saxophone
Shiro Mori – guitar
Paul Griffin – electric piano, piano
Mark Gray – synthesizer
Bernard Purdie – drums
Kinney Landrum (#1-4) – piano, electric piano
Tinker Barfield (#1-4), Chuck Rainey (#5,6) – bass
Priscilla Baskerville (#1), David Lashley (#1,2,4,5), Arnold McCuller (#1,4,6), Ula Hedwig (#2), Lynn Pitney (#2,4,6) – background vocals
Mayumi Nakamura (4-months-old with two teeth) – baby vocals

A rare treat from vocalist Saundra Hewitt – a singer with an incredible range right from the start – and a righteous power that matches some of her bigger-name 70s contemporaries! The grooves here are jazzy, but with a definite soulful undercurrent – especially on the rhythms, which often get a nice crackle from Bernard Purdie’s drums! Paul Griffin plays electric piano on the set, and Bob Mintzer serves up some nice tenor solos too – but the whole righteous vibe hangs heavily on Saundra’s great lyrics – on tunes that inlcude “Won’t Be Water Next Time”, “Got A New Pair Of Shoes”, “Heart Of Stone”, “Up On Cripple Creek”, “Just To Be With You”, and “I Loved You Too Much”.

[Total: 0   Average: 0/5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *