Sketchbook Quartet – Ottos Mops (2015)

Sketchbook Quartet - Ottos Mops (2015)
Artist: Sketchbook Quartet
Album: Ottos Mops
Label: Sessionwork Records
Year Of Release: 2015
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

1. Solidaritaetslied [4:16]
2. Ottos Mops [4:22]
3. Tuica [1:41]
4. D-Djin [6:45]
5. Sleepless Beauty [13:06]
6. Fleckerlteppich [3:04]
7. Freudscher 50er [5:03]
8. Deserteur-Division [6:49]
9. Leathal Slap [3:55]


Without a bass, but with a wry sense of humour the band thrives on various forms of musical interaction rooted in the history of jazz, often switching idioms within a single composition; the swift shift between tight arrangements, ensemble playing and excursions into extensive improvisation and soloing – without the presumable backing instruments having the chance to take a nap – being a hallmark of “Sketchbook Quartett.”

Leo Skorupa (sax), Dan Moser (bass clarinet), Alex Wallner (g) and Constantin “the con man“ Kraeutlerwho form the band give ample proof that they are at home and at ease with quite diverse stylistic approaches – and they really make the most of it. The very distinct sound of Sketchbook Quartet’s debut is rich in variety and texture, but still seems to come quite easily to them without being strenuously cerebral. (…) “Ottos Mops” really turns out to be a quite relaxed and nonchalant, but still highly original and even innovative album, not only to be enjoyed by dedicated jazz aficionados.

[Total: 0   Average: 0/5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *