Sven Hammond – Sphere (2021)

Sven Hammond - Sphere (2021)
Artist: Sven Hammond
Album: Sphere
Label: Virgin Music Label And Artist Services Benelux
Year Of Release: 2021
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Monk’s Dream
02. Locomotive – Doucement (Hittegolf)
03. Ruby My Dear
04. Evidence – I’ll Never Let Go
05. Ugly Beauty
06. Pannonica
07. Thelonious – Mijn Tempel
08. Bye Ya
09. Misterioso – Wat De Dag Brengt
10. Monk’s Point
11. Green Chimneys – Juffie


Sven Hammond has been known for rock, soul and blues since its inception in 2006: styles that always sound familiar, but never get boring. Even with 9 released (live) albums to their name, the band continues to innovate and develop.

The band has spent a lot of time in the studio over the past two years, and Sphere is the result. The album includes Monk’s Dream, which Sven Hammond released last October in honor of the birthday of jazz legend Thelonious Monk. It’s no coincidence that the album Sphere is named after the middle name of the American pianist and composer, because his work and influences are central to the album.

The new single Thelonious – My Temple, in which Sven collaborated with vocalist Gianski is one of the favorites on the album. The Amsterdam-based songwriter already participated in the pop round in 2018, made his debut shortly after and released his EP Red Mij last September. On My Temple, he accompanies Sven Hammond’s loose, playful instrumentals with enticing lyrics.

You can also hear new collaborations with young talents from today’s hip-hop and soul scene, including Typhoon, Zoë Love Smith, Cheyenne Toney and Akwasi.

Since December 31st, Sven Figee is also the musical director of the Sven Hammond Big Band, which has been expanded considerably for the new NPO 1 Saturday night program Matthijs Gaat Door. As the house band of this new TV show, the Sven Hammond Big Band is the musical thread that runs through the program.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *