Tim Warfield – A Sentimental Journey (2010)

Tim Warfield - A Sentimental Journey (2010)
Artist: Tim Warfield
Album: A Sentimental Journey
Label: Criss Cross Jazz
Year Of Release: 2010
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

1. Sentimental Journey (Brown / Homer) 9:26
2. I’ll Be Seeing You (Sammy Fain / Irving Kahal) 5:24
3. My Man (Yvain) 4:47
4. Crazy Rhythm (Joseph Meyer / Roger Wolfe Kahn / Irving Caesar) 5:06
5. Speak Low (Ogden Nash / Kurt Weill) 8:55
6. In A Sentimental Mood (Duke Ellington) 8:00
7. Golden Earrings (Victor Young) 7:56
8. Here’s That Rainy Day (Jimmy Van Heusen / Johnny Burke) 10:11


On his sixth Criss Cross leader date, saxophonist Tim Warfield reconvenes his bandmates – trumpeter extraordinaire Terell Stafford, Hammond B3 master Pat Bianchi, and Joey de Francesco’s drummer-of-choice Byron Landham – from the 2007 date One For Shirley (Criss 1304) for an informed, soulful exploration of American Songbook repertoire.

A life-long Pennsylvanian, Warfield learned how to navigate such terrain during a long association with the legendary Philadelphia keyboardist Shirley Scott. He applies those lessons to great effect, unfailingly channeling technical derring-do towards imperatives of emotional expression and swing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *