VA – Happy Anniversary, Charlie Brown! (1989)

VA - Happy Anniversary, Charlie Brown! (1989)
Artist: Various
Album: Happy Anniversary, Charlie Brown!
Label: GRP
Year Of Release: 1989
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue)

01 – David Benoit – Linus And Lucy
02 – B.B. King – Joe Cool
03 – Dave Grusin – History Lesson
04 – Chick Corea – The Great Pumpkin Waltz
05 – Joe Williams – Little Birdie
06 – Gerry Mulligan – Rain, Rain, Go Away
07 – Kenny G. – Breadline Blues
08 – Lee Ritenour – Red Baron
09 – Patti Austin – Christmas Time Is Here
10 – Amani A.W.-Murray – Charlie Brown Theme
11 – Dave Brubeck – Benjamin
12 – David Benoit – Linus And Lucy (Reprise)


This is GRP’s celebration of Charlie Brown and The Peanuts 40th anniversary. It’s aimed at the jazz market, not necessarily the children’s market.

The 40th anniversary of the Charlie Brown comic strip is celebrated on this 1987 CD by performances of songs used on the cartoon series (most of which were originally composed by Vince Guaraldi). A variety of artists participated in the project including David Benoit, B.B. King (singing “Joe Cool”), Dave Grusin, Chick Corea (“The Great Pumpkin Waltz”), Joe Williams, Gerry Mulligan, Lee Ritenour, Patti Austin and even Kenny G (“Breadline Blues”) and Dave Brubeck (“Benjamin”). The results are pleasing if lightweight. ~ Scott Yanow

[Total: 0   Average: 0/5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *