VA – The Merriest of Christmas Pops (1959)

VA - The Merriest of Christmas Pops (1959)
Artist: Various
Album: The Merriest of Christmas Pops
Label: RCA – Legacy
Year Of Release: 1959
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01. Esquivel – White Christmas (01:48)
02. The Skip Jacks – The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire) (02:35)
03. Mimi Hines – I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus (02:14)
04. Ray Martin, His Orchestra and Chorus – Winter Wonderland (02:10)
05. The Skip Jacks – Here Comes Santa Claus (Right Down Santa Claus Lane) (02:34)
06. Mimi Hines – Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer (02:47)
07. Esquivel – Frosty The Snow Man (02:23)
08. Ray Martin, His Orchestra and Chorus – I’ll Be Home For Christmas (02:19)
09. Mimi Hines – All I Want For Christmas (Is My Two Front Teeth) (02:04)
10. Esquivel – Blue Christmas (02:27)
11. Mimi Hines – Santa Baby (02:36)
12. Esquivel – Santa Claus Is Comin’ To Town (02:09)


Considered the hardest-to-find of the U.S. releases, Merriest is only half an Esquivel album. Six of the tracks are dismissable (Ray Martin) or worse (Mimi Hines). Of the six led by Esquivel, two feature the vocal group, the Skip-Jacks. But that’s OK; they are not so different from the Randy van Horne Singers, and it is a Christmas album, after all; wordless vocals such as “zu zu zu” and “pow” are probably not appropriate. The renditions of “Blue Christmas” and “Frosty the Snowman” are priceless for the Esquivel fan or anyone seeking quirky, instrumental-pop, holiday fare.
Tony Wilds

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *