VA – Yule B’ Swingin’ Too! (2000)

VA - Yule B' Swingin' Too! (2000)
Artist: Various
Album: Yule B’ Swingin’ Too!
Label: Hip-O Records
Year Of Release: 2000
Quality: FLAC (tracks)

01 Louis Armstrong – Christmas In New Orleans 2:54
02 Louis Prima – Shake Hands With Santa Claus 2:27
03 Benny Goodman And His Orchestra – Santa Claus Came In The Spring 3:10
04 Ann Margret and Al Hirt – Baby Its Cold Outside 3:30
05 Duke Ellington and His Orchestra – Jingle Bells 2:59
06 Ella Fitzgerald – White Christmas 3:02
07 June Christy – The Merriest 2:08
08 Dean Martin – Rudolph The Red nosed Reindeer 2:16
09 Joe Williams – let it snow let it snow let it snow 4:35
10 Bing Crosby and The Andrews Sisters – Here Comes Santa Claus 3:03
11 Tommy Dorsey and His Orchestra – Santa Claus Is Coming To Town 3:23
12 Jimmy Dorsey and His Original Dorseyland Orchestra – Dixieland Band From Santa Claus Land 2:44
13 Lionel Hampton and His Orchestra – Boogie Woogie Santa Claus 2:45
14 Billie Holiday – Ive Got My Love To Keep Me Warm 3:55


A hoppin’ visit from Saint Nick via some of his happier elves, Yule B Swingin’ Too is the second release in a series of vocal jazz holiday albums from Hip-O Records. Having released some real classics on the first volume, this edition suffers a little, but several tracks really shine: Ann Margaret and Al Hirt’s take on “Baby It’s Cold Outside” is a light and funny duet, and Billie Holiday’s “I’ve Got My Love to Keep Me Warm” lasts as one of the great interpretations of the song. All of these tracks have been previously released during the ’40s, ’50s, and early ’60s, but having them all on one CD makes for certain holiday listening enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *